So I finally have NMS on the PC

And it works! I knew I didn’t trust that one website. I’ve only played to the point of finding my ship so I could save it, but haven’t tried it after changing all the settings to low. Although, I don’t know what some of the graphic settings mean because I am new to PC gaming, so does anyone have an explanation of the settings you can turn on or off?

So I got it on PC for two reasons: One, to play with my GF, and two (and maybe more importantly) , I WANT MODS!! So how do I do mods in NMS? Especially of course the famous Ray’s overhaul mod.

3 Likes

Here are my current settings. I don’t have a top-of-the line PC. Of course, anything that says low, medium, high can be adjusted as needed. The game won’t look as good but, …and light shafts (god rays) can be turned off. As for the rest, I have to call my son in, lol. They too can make a big difference in performance.

I like for things to look nice but, I have to have smooth performance.

1 Like

Yeah light shafts I kind of figured, but other than the low, medium, high ones, I’m not sure what the rest mean. Good to see I’m not the only one who doesn’t want motion blur.

1 Like

Alright, here’s a quick rundown on everything in that picture:

Window Mode: Wether or not you want NMS to run in a window or not (Obvious, I know, but I am listing everything.)

Monitor: If you have multiple monitors, you can choose which one it runs on.

Resolution: Sets the resolution of the game. It you’re okay with 900p or even 720p, go right ahead and change it. Or leave it at native resolution, which I strongly prefer.

V-Sync: Ever see screen tearing while playing? Enable this and that is gone. Minor impact to FPS

Anti-Aliasing (AA): Smoothes out the jagged lines you see in objects both near and far (Mostly seen in far ones.) The higher the setting, the better the smoothing, though I prefer just regular FXAA. Higher you go, the more the FPS impact.