Unreal Engine

Ill delete this later, just wondering if anyone here has experience with Unreal Engine?

I decided to mess around in it again and see if I can make a dumb gokart game but make it 2 player(online multiplayer)

5 Likes

I wanna play dumb go cart game. :racing_car:

4 Likes

I have no experience with modern 3d engines but I can tell you if you call the game “Go, Dumbkart!” it will sell well on steam.

Or just

3 Likes

I’ll buy it! :smile:

3 Likes

Making a dumb go-cart game in any modern 3-d engine shouldn’t be too much of a problem, assuming there’s a few tutorials around to get you started and you get a couple of fitting assets from somewhere. You can probably build a lot of that with a minimum of code.

The multiplayer is really the more complicated part here. I’m really not familiar with Unreal specifically, so I don’t know how the support is, but I’d assume they’ll have some library for synching built in. It’s still not going to be too easy to figure out how to use it properly, and you’ll have to hassle with the api of your chosen publishing platform to set up the connection. On the plus side, you don’t need any AI for controlling the vehicles if you make it multiplayer only…

4 Likes

Lol well the reason for the question is that I just want to make an extremely basic game using unreal’s blueprints just for fun to mess around in with my nephew. Literally the whole game would be made with just cubes for extra simplicity.

I just started the project and I watched a tutorial for setting up a vehicle using UE5 and while i managed to get the vehicle to steer, accelerate and stop, the suspension doesnt seem to work right. I started the tutorial over from the beginning 3 times already just in case i missed something but the result is the same. I sent my gokart to my brother to see if it works for him and still the same result. Been banging my head over this for over 3 weeks.