Severe save game issues continually ignored by HG, are back

There seem to be many problems regarding the save file system that have been in the game since launch, and seem to cause problems every time there is a major update, and a lot of the time in between, as well. Since 1.5 dropped, now I have been seeing lots of threads here and on gamefaqs.com where PS4 players with old saves are reporting crashing, low performance, whole inventory going blank, discoveries going missing shortly after scans, and even being forced to completely start fresh from the “Press square to initialize” screen.

So I am going to give everyone a history of all the save game problems I have experienced since I started playing on Day One. That way people will have a perspective on the scope and scale of this issue, and how long it has been since HG has been sweeping it under the rug and ignoring it.

It’s time that HG acknowledges that the PS4 save file system is completely screwed up and many of our saves are corrupted by various problems. It’s time that they get serious about fixing this for us. It’s time that they quit acting like it’s our fault for having played the game for a long time, and stop treating us like edge cases. They need to fix this!!! We are tired of the crashes and lost play time.

Note: I realize this post concerns issues that do not affect every player. However, I believe it affects enough players that it’s a very serious issue and I know from personal experience (as I will demonstrate below) that HG has been ignoring this issue.

PRE-ATLAS RISES SAVE FILE PROBLEMS

In 1.0x there was a bug where the game would seem to be saving, but would not be saving. When they patched it, the patch notes said something about too many discoveries causing this.