PCG Programming in NMS - Mining Down for Resources

An interesting question was asked on YouTube on @MacForADay 's Channel regarding mining down for resources in a future update. The great minds on this forum have a lot of knowledge on how the game is built. I’ve added my initial thoughts on the problem, I’m no expert, and I would love to hear your thoughts on this subject. So. Actually mining down for resources rather than gathering them on the planets surface…this was my reply to @MacForADay

Mac, I’m not actually sure whether one of these suggestions is possible in the games current state. Mining down. Because of the way the planets are created, terrain is laid on to a cube, then that modified terrain is then wrapped onto a sphere creating pinching at the sides furthest away from the player. This I think is where the poles of the planet are placed. Also the reason why you will always achieve planet fall on the equator. Also, the mining depth according to SM was 128m. Considering all of the terrain is 36 x 36 x 36 voxals with each one being populated without knowing the content of every other voxal surrounding it. The further down you go, alters the order each voxal is populated. I think. Also, if you shift the entire array of voxals in relation to the horizon down a few levels to accommodate the extra depth, you would lose that terrain from the top of the array, flattening the height of peaks somewhat. This could possibly be compensated for by extra domain warping or other techniques, but any extra generation comes at a cost. I’m not an expert, but initial thoughts on mining further down would cause a lot of unforeseen problems I think. Remember the bug when you drop through the terrain after getting out of your ship? @DevilinPixy some other great minds on the CSD forum will definitely be able to tell us more…