NPC quest = instant Sentinel attack

You know those lonely npcs that mind the shops that have only one landing pad, often way out in the wilderness? They ask you for help but don’t say what they want? Usually it is Scan four minerals for me, or feed five creatures. Nice pleasant work.
Yeah, those guys.

This one was a doozy! I felt a bit sorry for him, and maybe I didn’t understand him all that well, as I’m still learning the lingo. But I accepted his request and expected the Log to translate what he wanted from me.

I hit accept. It was then that all hell broke loose! My helmet lit up like a Christmas tree. Aggro stars to the max. Four Sentinels with search beams spawned in just outside the building --two on one side and two on the other, weaving back and forth, gunning for me:

Knowing it had to have something to do with the quest I’d been given, I quickly opened my log. This is what I saw there:

And I hadn’t even done anything yet.
–Except unwittingly agreed to take out five containers at a nearby weapons depot. :worried:

They didn’t seem to be able to get inside after me, so I waited it out until they finally gave up. Even then they didn’t all leave. Two of them stayed and kept scanning the building for 15 minutes more, even after they’d called off the hunt.

I don’t remember those quests being like that before BEYOND. So I’m assuming it was a bug.

Gave me quite a scare. I was so shocked that I forgot to take all the photo evidence I could have.

I decided that since I’d already been accused and (somewhat) punished for a crime I hadn’t (yet) committed, I would go ahead and do the quest. Used my ship. Piece-o-cake! :wink:

So. Bug? Or new feature?

11 Likes

Prior to BEYOND, if you were given a quest to destroy a depot, you had to do it on foot, using your multitool. If you used your ship, the quest would bug out, and could never be completed. The only solution in some cases was to go back to an earlier save (if you could).