So I started playing Star Citizen

Just wanted to rant and share in case anyone wants to try the game. So I started playing Star Citizen. A friend bought it for me. I had followed the game since a short while after its kickstarter days but never bought it because it never took off for my tastes. The first few hours looked amazing. The graphics look very realistic and the details are insane. After flying the starter ship and doing a mission and exploring the city areas and watching a few youtube videos on the game, I came to a conclusion.

Star Citizen feels like there’s something wrong here. It doesn’t “suck”, but it feels empty despite being highly detailed. Yes there are very detailed ships, weapons, vehicles, etc. But it feels like there is very liitle to do with it and it feels very tedious after a few hours. Again, its not a bad game. It just doesnt feel like a game to me, it feels like its very unfinished and thats because it is. Its visually stunning and satisfying to look at, but after that it feels like I rather just look at it than play it. I mean, after over $300,000,000+ in development costs and 8-ish years and thats all you’ve got to show for it? They push out ship after ship for hundreds of real life money instead of pushing out content such as missions(although they did eventually add missions but they get old fast) and they reset any in-game progress after some updates often forcing you to start from scratch again with the exception of the things you purchased with real-life money. This feels like an elaborate scam to get your money thats legal. Like they realised that they make more money if they just keep “developing” and they decided to push out content intentionally slow and small to keep revenue flowing at a consistent rate while they keep promising the game will get better(they actually faced legal issues regarding mismanegement of money too actually)