Re-Ordering Game Save Slots

What I would like to do is simply take my Normal Save from a previous back up of the game and insert it to the bottom, empty slot, of my current game saves. The reason being I have a ship I lost in my current game but have found a Save in an earlier Galaxy, still with my favourite ship and I’d like to continue playing NMS with it. A relative of mine passed away but I associate my uncle with that ship as it reminds me of him.

I’ve a spare unused slot and simply want to not have to keep swapping file folders to play one Normal Save or the other. I want to be able to have a choice between the Normal Saves on the same selection screen.

I have tried experimenting and changing the name of the ‘save.hg’ file(s) to ‘save9.hg’ but it is more complicated than simply changing a name to fool the game into swapping game save positions in the list. I hope there is a simple solution but not being a programmer I couldn’t find a method to name change the save files. Can anyone suggest a solution.

Ultimately it would be nice to swap ‘my uncle’s’ ship with one on my freighter one day in my current save.

it appears even number is the auto save storage files.
odd number are the secondary are save files.
I would suggest to send HG and email and see if you get a response.
I believe you have done everything I would suggest.

I am assuming you have the backed save on PC, Steam and it should indeed be as simple as overwriting the correct save files. I am also assuming your backup save files are using the new save system, save(x).hg compared to the older save system where they were named mf_save(x) and storage(x).hg.

Keep in mind that every save contains 2 files!
Slot 1 would be save.hg and save2.hg. Slot 2 would be save3.hg and save4.hg. And so on…