NEXT before Xbox?

Hi there, I was just wondering about something.

The NEXT update will be included on the Xbox disk, so NEXT should be done quite a bit before NMS launches on Xbox.
My question is, would it make sense from a business perspective to drop the update on PS4 and PC before the Xbox? Or would it make more sense to drop the update for everyone at the same time?

I’m no expert, but I imagine having NEXT on PS4 and PC first would help them find bugs for a day one patch on the new platforms. It could also help manage the amount of players, you’d get a surge of players on PS4 and PC which could have calmed down a bit before the surge of new players on Xbox and Tencent WeGame. It might also help gain some positive media attention before it comes out on the new platforms.

Launching NEXT for everyone at the same time is also an option, but to me it would make more sense to launch it on PS4 and PC first.

Your thoughts?

2 Likes

AFAIK, they only put the base game on the disc. All the other stuff gets downloaded. So they can still be upgrading and improving NEXT right up to launch day (and beyond).

2 Likes

Yes, but it doesn’t say the software is actually on the disc. If NEXT were physically present on the disc, then yes, it would have to be finished some time before launch, to allow for manufacturing, shipping, etc.

If, however, the disc just allows you to download NEXT, then NEXT doesn’t have to be finished until launch day.

1 Like

Even though not 100% stated, the way I read it was that it would be on the disc that they release. Dont know how it’ll roll out.

I’m not sure it would be helpful to drop the update before the xbox release. HG have so much at stake with 2 new market places. If it gets panned before release it could be the end.

However they do it I’m really rooting for them to succeed and see nms as an ongoing franchise. :slight_smile:

3 Likes