Little something I've been working on designing - Hauler Class

Brushing up on my auto cad 3d. I’m not a pro at this stuff and my work can be a little jagged around the edges. But, so far this has been one hell of test.

Missing a chassis at the moment, I have not had the time to dissect it. And my thrusters under the wing need a little help.

10 Likes

OMG, I feel you there with it being a challenge. Those guys at HG are good at their modeling.
They also seem to seriously hate flat or 90 degree angles. Everything is slightly askew.

I attached a couple pics of my ship, the Infinite Dawn, look at the angles behind the wing in the lower right image, just crazy trying to get that extruded right.

Still not done, I got distracted by the ARG and 1.3, but I’ll get back to it soon.

I’m just so glad I’m not the only one crazy enough to try this out there! :smiley: :smiley: __

11 Likes

Awesome! You look like you’re pretty close to finished. Your cockpit came out really good

1 Like

Wowow awesome old school spaceship! I don’t know why but the front of the space ship makes me think somehow to the Millenium Falcon! Very very nice done!

2 Likes

Where did you get the sketch from that you’re using to model, and are you using Revit or CAD? Just curious.

1 Like

What I did was take some screenshots and then draw on top of that to make my initial sketches, then scaled everything to the correct physical size (my goal is to print as a 2’ model).

Once I figured out the camera controls it became a lot easier to go out in space and take all the plan screenshots (Left, Right, Top, Bottom, Font, Rear), and go from there.

It takes a long time to get all the geometry right. You should’ve seen some of my early attempts at it. It was horrible, and I had to take breaks. I still can’t get the stupid Sentinel drone body right. It looks like a salt shaker right now!

I am currently using Solidworks 2016 for this.

3 Likes