I think so long as you have uploaded in game your discoveries it should be yours permanently thereafter .. How long, I presume forever (unless one day Hellogames no longer have control of the servers, taken over by another company that does not care, or bankrupt).
I believe the game saves the system to your local discovery cache as self-discovered, but it should show up as undiscovered for anyone else who warps in later.
Now, the only case where this doesn’t happen afaik is if you land on a planet in a multiplayer session. Even if you don’t upload the planet, your “discovery” of it will be broadcast to all players in the session and their discovery caches will record you as the discoverer even if you didn’t upload it to the servers. I’m not entirely sure what the cooldown on this cache is though.
Thank YOU for creating them! They’re full of really interesting observations and have been so helpful explaining the ARG in an entertaining way.
New video from @GoodGuysFree with 10 reasons for official and 10 reasons for fan made ![]()