Closed Topic. Please see new discussion

This is an idea, and I’m not too experienced with the politics of No Man’s Sky. Hell, I’ve never even been to the Hub yet. But… just check this out.

In Next, let’s say you can demand units from another player. Or atleast initiate a trade. To help those that want to be pirates or traders. Cool, cool.

Taxes and toll fees for the Hub and other civilizations, hear me out.

What if, in order to travel in the hub as a regular “citizen”, you have to pay like, 50k per jump. Mid game, that’s pocket money. I mean, who’s even reached the hub without having a decent farm. The Hub police enforce this tax, and will attack those that don’t pay.

Okay, so the Hub (or other large civilization) gets an income of units, now what?

“Trains” and new player support.

The Hub officials now use this money to… buy cheap-ish (like, B-class explorers) ships, and/or multitools, or even trade for resources. Then, they donate it to new players. But that’s not the main point. “Trains” are.

Let’s assume Next adds multiple-personnel freighters, and other people can land in your freighter. Now, this is where stuff gets cool.

The Hub hires players with good freighter warp drives to ferry newer players, or just those that have gotten bad with the rng, to systems that have anomalies, higher level stars, you name it. Maybe like, a freighter ticket is 10k, along with a single warp cell for fuel. It would add a ton to the rp, and make multiplayer interactions really cool. Imagine being a high level player, and seeing 5 other noobs jump into your home system. Do you attack them as easy cash, or guide them along?

But then again, I know little about the Hub other than it’s got a lot of people in it, and it’s charted a ton of space.

-Main point over, closely related ideas below-