Latest Space Missions (& Other Science Stuff)

There are cheaper ways for huge explosions, which would be short-lived regardless. I’d rather see a successful long lasting mission. A shame to see the launch scrubbed, but if anything is wrong, it is the right call to make.

News Update

https://blogs.nasa.gov/artemis/2022/09/03/nasa-to-stand-down-on-artemis-i-launch-attempts-in-early-september-reviewing-options/

4 Likes


Tarantula JWST

7 Likes

Huh… If you showed me the image without context, I would have guessed that it was painted

3 Likes

Super Heavy Static Fire

That’s just 7 engines, not 33! :frowning_face:

4 Likes

One step at a time, my dear Pixy. :wink:

2 Likes

Neptune JWST.

7 Likes

Bu-but… where are all the stars?? :grin:

It’s funny to think that compared to the cold of interplanetary space, Neptune is hot. And compared to the cold of interstellar space, our solar system environ is warm. And compared to intergalactic space, the Milky Way is warm. And compared to intercluster deep space, the galactic neighborhood is still a scouche warm. The Webb sure has a nifty Polaroid.

3 Likes

And now we have a hurricane approaching so no Artemis launches
Watch this instead

4 Likes

NASA’s DART Spacecraft on Approach to Asteroid Dimorphos

Tonight!

5:30 p.m. EDT (21:30 UTC): Live feed from the DART spacecraft as it approaches asteroid Didymos

6 p.m. EDT (22:00 UTC): Live broadcast coverage of the DART mission as the spacecraft attempts to deflect an asteroid from its path (impact targeted for 7:14 p.m. EDT)

8 p.m. EDT (24:00 UTC): NASA’s Double Asteroid Redirection Test (DART) post-impact press briefing

Update:

5 Likes

https://www.nasa.gov/feature/goddard/2022/webb-hubble-capture-detailed-views-of-dart-impact

3 Likes